March 17, 2009

How to finish a half marathon last.

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:26 pm by vikkyd

This is my very first post. I have hesitated setting up a blog because I couldn’t think of anything that people would like to read about. Then, I got an ‘ah-ha’ and realized that I can create a blog and it doesn’t really matter whether it’s read by the masses. Instead, I’m going to just jump into this world of blogging and write what I feel like writing. Here goes…

I am trying to get myself motivated to train for my 5th half marathon — two a year for the past two years. A couple of friends asked for my training schedule, so here it is. Am I an expert? NO! I’m just a slow, overweight, lazy gal that was able to make it pass the finish line a few times now. Okay. I wasn’t last, but pretty close to it! My half marathon pace is between 3.5 – 4  hours. This training schedule has worked for me in the past, and hopefully it will help you too. It’s been modified from Hal Higdon’s training schedule. I’m training for the San Juan Half Marathon that’s on June 7th. What I have learned about training for the half marathon is DO NOT miss a distance walk. You can get away with missing a maintenance walk occasionally, but it’s very difficult to catch up once you miss your long walk for the week.

If you are on San Juan Island and would like to train with me — please do! I will probably ask you to slow down, but it’s about finishing… right?

Maintenance walk – twice a week; distance walk – once a week

Maintenance

Distance

Week 1 – March 16-22

3 miles

4 miles

Week 2 – March 23-29

3 miles

4 miles

Week 3 – Mar 30-April 5

3.5 miles

5 miles

Week 4 – April 6 – 12

3.5 miles

5 miles

Week 5 – April 13 – 19

4 miles

6 miles

Week 6 – April 20 – 26

4 miles

6 miles

Week 7 – Apr 27 – May 3

4.5 miles

7 miles

Week 8 – May 4 – 10

4.5 miles

8 miles

Week 9 – May 11 – 17

5 miles

9 miles

Week 10 – May 18 – 24

5 miles

10 miles

Week 11 – May 25 – 31

5 miles

11 miles

Week 12 – June 1-7

4 miles

RACE DAY

3 Comments »

  1. Karen Vedder said,

    Vikky,
    I am ON for this. I took a two hour walk yesterday with a lot of hill work through 3 Meadows. It was probably only four miles but the hills make it slower.
    Karen

  2. vikkyd said,

    Thanks for your comment Karen. Let’s get together after this wacky weather. Off post, you asked about walking on pavement… Good question. Training for the first half marathon, I only walked on dirt roads and when I did the race, I got some ugly blisters by Mile 8! I was hurting and limping across the finish line! Since then, I do several of my distance walks, starting at mile 8, on pavement and I haven’t had a blister. I also found out that my shoes were too small. I went to a store that specializes in running shoes and they sized me in a shoe that is 1/2 size larger than my street shoes. And they suggested running shoes too, not those athletic shoes that say they are for walking or cross-training.

    • Karen Vedder said,

      Vikky,
      When we walked across England (just do it!!!) three years ago I spent two hours in REI getting fitted for shoes. They were fabulous. I too found that I had been wearing shoes too small – they didn’t allow for my toes to swell in the toe box. My England shoes are now shot and I am in the market for a new pair. Interesting about the running shoes. I will talk to my shoe guy at REI (Jim in Lynnwood) about that option.
      Tip on blisters: change to dry socks half-way through. I learned that from my friend that did the Santiego path in Spain. It solved her her blister issues.
      Karen


Leave a Reply

